Let’s Change The World

When I started teaching the class called “The Call to Leadership” in the Ateneo Graduate School of Business, the guy who designed the program told me to share my personal stories. As I ended the class this term, I found that I needed to tell them how I re-discovered my sense of purpose.

“A formal student of mine, she used to sit there where you guys are now, we were talking once in our company and she asked me, ‘Jake what do you want to do with the company?” And I had forgotten what I had wanted to do with my company ‘coz it’s been three years of white hair, looking for money, not seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, and not knowing everything that needed to get done to be successful, or even feeling that success was even possible… and she goes ‘Jake what do you want to do with the company?” And I go ‘I want to change the world.’

I’m lucky that I have the chance to produce shows that inspire people to live a more sustainable life, to believe that everything they do, that every single act they do can make a difference in the environment and can make a difference today. I”m lucky that I can do a show that talks about people’s transformations, getting over fears, getting over the thing that scares them the most, transforming into the best version of themselves… in the air, on the ground, in the water. I’m lucky that I can do that.

And I’m lucky that every term, I can stand in front of 30 people like you, helping you talk about your lives, helping you see that they are more than they ever imagined. And that you and me, and our hopes and our dreams, and no matter what we are, these are the things that will change the world. So why don’t we? Let’s change the world!”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

