Have Passion But No Plan

 

WritingSo you decided to follow that passion or set of passions but you don’t know how to do it. In the class I teach and in my own experience, this lack of a plan can be very disheartening. So what can you do? You can study the industry, look of the opportunities, and talk to people doing what you want to do. But the most important thing you can and should do — and if you do nothing else, make sure you do this: TELL PEOPLE WHAT YOU DREAM TO DO.

At one level, it’s very practical. If you don’t tell your parents, friends, industry people what you hope to do, want to really do, they won’t know. There’s really some logic in getting it out of your head and into the ears of people who’ll give you advice, refer you to someone who may help, or point you in the right direction. If you get someone who tells you it’s going to be difficult or even impossible, don’t listen to them. Of course it’ll be difficult. Nothing worthwhile is easy.

At another level, there’s also something that happens when you make your intentions public and tell the universe. You make yourself accountable — you said you wanted to do it, now do what needs to get done. The other dimension is the universe of opportunities seems to open up when you make your desire to follow your passion public. I don’t know how it works, I just know that it does.

After I quit my one & only big corporate job, I was trying to find a way to do what I really wanted to do but didn’t know how to do or make a living out of doing it. Getting frustrated, I asked the help of a wiser older friend to help me think things through. I also invited two kindred spirits who were similarly passionate and lost. After about an hour, he asked “What do you really want to do and will regret if you don’t try?” I said I’ll regret not trying to make local lifestyle content that would inspire, inform & entertain audiences the AB C1 market. We ended that session with the agreement to pay attention to the opportunities to see how we could make that happen. As I was walking my friend out the door, the phone rang and it was one of the owners of an independent cable channel. He was asking if we could come in to brainstorm ideas. They had an opportunity to make a young local lifestyle upscale cable channel and didn’t know how do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

